Curtis Granderson named a finalist for the 2015 Hank Aaron Award

BaronThanks to a fantastic second season with the Mets in 2015, Curtis Granderson is up for a prestigious award in baseball this year.

Major League Baseball announced on Monday Granderson has been named the team’s finalist for the 2015 Hank Aaron Award, which recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each league, established in 1999.

Granderson posted a 5.1 fWAR while hitting .264/.364/.457, posting his highest OPS (.821) since 2011. The 34-year-old hit the game winning home run during Sunday’s season finale against the Nationals for his 26th home run and 70th RBI on the year. He also tallied 33 doubles, two triples and a career-high 91 walks in 2015.

The Hall of Fame panel, led by Hank Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time –Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Eddie Murray, Frank Thomas, Robin Yount as well as 2015 Hall of Fame inductee Craig Biggio. They along with fans will vote for the Hank Aaron Award, which ends October 11.

Fans can vote online at

The two winners will be announced during game four of the World Series.

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Giancarlo Stanton and Mike Trout (2014); Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt (2013); Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012); Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011); Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.

Here are all of the finalists:

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 12.55.50 PM

1 Comment

Well deserved. A true gentleman.


%d bloggers like this: